Warning: assert(): Assertion failed in /home/content/55/10886855/html/completecinemas/wp-includes/random_compat/error_polyfill.php on line 3
Election Postponed again in Thajavur & Aravakurichi

Election Postponed again in Thajavur & Aravakurichi



Election Postponed again in Thajavur & Aravakurichi. No Election will be held on 23May2016.

The Election Commission (EC) on decided to postpone polling in Aravakurichi and Thanjavur Assembly constituencies to June 13 instead of holding it on May 23 as scheduled earlier.

The move immediately came under fire from DMK president M. Karunanidhi who has threatened to launch a “direct” but “peaceful” agitation.

The DMK leader alleged that there was a conspiracy to deny his party a victory in the two constituencies, as votes from the two elected candidates would have a bearing on the outcome of the approaching biennial election to fill six vacancies in the Rajya Sabha.

The EC had earlier deferred polling in Aravakurichi and Thanjavur constituencies following evidence of bribing of voters.

During the hearing of a plea to postpone the polling further to ensure fair play, the EC informed the Madras High Court that it would put off the polling by three weeks and announce the new date in consultation with the other candidates. Recording the submission of Niranjan Rajagopalan, counsel for the EC, a vacation bench of Justices K. Kalyanasundaram and Justice D. Krishnakumar adjourned the case to June for further hearing.

“The polls have been postponed based on a plea from the BJP and the PMK. How many seats have these parties won in the elections,” Mr. Karunanidhi asked.


Comments are closed.